Great Lakes Pilotage Authority
Laurentian Pilotage Authority
Pacific Pilotage Authority
St. Lawrence Seaway Authority
Seaway International Bridge Corporation Limited

President of Treasury Board
Canadian Patents and Development Limited
National Research Council

Minister of State for Urban Affairs Ministry of State for Urban Affairs Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation National Capital Commission

Minister of Veterans Affairs
Department of Veterans Affairs
Army Benevolent Fund Board
Bureau of Pensions Advocates
Canadian Pension Commission
Commonwealth War Graves Commission
(Canada)
Pension Review Board
War Veterans Allowance Board

3.3 Provincial and territorial governments

3.3.1 Provincial governments

In each of the provinces, the Queen is represented by a <u>Lieutenant Governor</u> appointed by the Governor General in Council. The <u>Lieutenant Governor acts</u> on the advice and with the assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council which is responsible to the legislature and resigns office under circumstances similar to those described concerning the federal government.

The legislature of each province is unicameral, consisting of the Lieutenant Governor and a Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Assembly is elected by the people for a statutory term of five years but may be dissolved within that period by the Lieutenant Governor on the advice

of the Premier of the province.

Sections 92, 93 and 95 of the British North America Act, 1867 (Br. Stat. 1867, c.3 and amendments) assign legislative authority in certain areas to the provincial governments (see

Chapter 2).

Details regarding qualifications and disqualifications of the franchise are contained in the Elections Act of each province. In general, every person at a specified age (18 to 21 years) who is a Canadian citizen or (in certain provinces) other British subject, who complies with certain residence requirements in the province and the electoral district of polling and who falls under no statutory disqualifications, is entitled to vote. Voting privileges are given to persons in Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta at the age of 18 and in Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and British Columbia at 19 years.

3.3.1.1 Newfoundland

The government of Newfoundland has a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly made up of 51 members elected for a term not to exceed five years. Since July 4, 1974 the Lieutenant Governor has been the Honourable Gordon A. Winter. The Legislature, elected September 16, 1975, is the 37th in the history of Newfoundland and the ninth since Confederation. Thirty Progressive Conservatives, 16 Liberals, four members of the Liberal Reform party and one Independent Liberal were elected.

The Premier receives a salary of \$19,000 and Cabinet Ministers \$12,000 per annum, plus a car allowance of \$2,000, sessional indemnity of \$8,000 and a travelling expense allowance of \$4,000. Each member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$8,000 plus a travelling and expense allowance of \$4,000. The Leader of the Opposition receives an

additional allowance of \$12,000.

The Executive Council of Newfoundland as at December 31, 1974

Premier, Hon. F.D. Moores

President of the Council and Minister of Public Works and Services, Hon. Dr. T.C. Farrell

Minister of Justice, Hon. T. Alex Hickman Minister of Finance, Hon. H.R.V. Earle Minister of Education, Hon. G. Ottenheimer

Minister of Transportation and Communications,

Hon. J.G. Rousseau

Minister of Social Services, Hon. A.J. Murphy Minister of Health, Hon. Dr. A.T. Rowe

Minister of Industrial Development and President of Treasury Board, Hon. C.W. Doody

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Hon.
Brian Peckford

Minister of Manpower and Industrial Relations, Hon. E. Maynard